Value of AGI rating?

Vince R

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Vince R
I'm a private pilot that's considering going for an AGI rating, and I'm curious what people think about the value of being a ground instructor.

I'm not really interested in being a full-blown CFI - I don't have a commercial certificate, and I don't think I'd be able to keep up with the CFI currency requirements if I were to go this way. On the other hand, teaching the occasional ground school class would force me to keep my knowledge up to date, and it would be a way that I could feel like I was giving something back to the aviation community.

What do you guys think?

If you are a PPL it's probably worth it. You could make some extra money doing ground school. Since I'm an instructor, it's pretty useless.

It's an easy certificate to get, but I don't think you'll make money with it. If I owned a flight school I would not hire a PP to teach a ground school. I would give the job to a struggling CFI.

Currency. I can't remember exactly, but there are currency requirements to exercise the AGI.
I remember the day I got the certificate I wasn't current. I was never current. Crazy it works like that, but it does.

If you are a PPL it's probably worth it. You could make some extra money doing ground school. Since I'm an instructor, it's pretty useless.

Wait, you can make money as a ground instructor? LOL.

In all honesty to the OP, there's not a ton of work for someone with an AGI certificate (it's not a rating!). In my experience, most ground schools are taught by someone holding a CFI certificate. But you probably know your market best, and as an AGI, you may be able to help with a CFI leading a ground school. If there's a need, go for it: it's not terribly expensive, time consuming or hard to obtain.