USAF charter jet carrying women's b'ball team damages OK airport runway after unauthorized landing

I liked how an Air Force rep said Military aircraft are used to transport teams to "save the taxpayers money". In this case, the aircraft was a C-17.

Please discuss.

If it’s combined with a pilot proficiency flight that need to take place anyway it should be fine?

You can make up a scenario to try and justify this. But unless there's evidence this was a training flight and the USAF had no higher priority cargo, then we just fall back to the stupidity of using a C-17, complete with airframe life limits, fuel burn, maintenance costs and the like, to haul 25 (?) people to a ballgame.

I was a C-130 pilot. In the US, we often flew trips that might look like a waste of money, but there was training going on almost all the time.
Another training flight that happens a few times a week in July....Whiteman to OSH to wherever....B2 flyovers for Airventure. They gotta get training hours, may as well make it a public relations event, too.

You can make up a scenario to try and justify this. But unless there's evidence this was a training flight and the USAF had no higher priority cargo, then we just fall back to the stupidity of using a C-17, complete with airframe life limits, fuel burn, maintenance costs and the like, to haul 25 (?) people to a ballgame.
That’s not how the Air Force works. Do you think pilots just sit around the squadron waiting to be deployed in order to fly? I flew an average of probably 1-3 times per week when I was on Active Duty. The majority of that was pure training hours. We’d fly 2 hours to hook up with a receiver airplane for 40 minutes on a refueling track, give them no gas, then fly another 2 hours home and do 2 hours of pattern work.