Usable weight consistantly not followed?

Maverick3n1

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Maverick3n1
I'm new to flying, and have my student license and am cleared to solo, but I have not yet taken the written or hands on test (I excelled at my hands on and can pass the hands on test no problem, but fell behind on my studies of the manual for the written).

That said, I have asked my instructor numerous times and never truly got a straight answer from him. I consistently see people flying in scenarios where based on the airplane's rating, they are flying overweight. For example, two full grown men, weighting 200-250 lbs each, getting into a CZAW Piper Sport that has a useable weight of 450-480lbs. With their weight alone, there is no room for fuel, yet they hop on in, full tank of fuel, and don't appear to have any issues climbing.

I've seen 3 full grown men get into a C172 that was just topped off by the local fuel supplier, take off and fly without a problem, and being that it's the primary type of plane I fly, I know the older models are typically around 800 lbs of usefull load (1960-1980 C172). The 3 men plus the full tank has to put them in the 900's. They appear to climb at around 500fpm however...

Are the planes listed weight, under-rated compared to what they can actually safely carry, or perhaps those weight restrictions have not so much to do with ability to climb, and more so with the ability to take sharp turns at 45 degree+ turns. Obviously, with my instructor being in his role, these kinds of topics are taboo, and the only answer he will give me is to "fly under max weight".