Twin Cessna insurance question

John C Malone

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
flynsail
Hi - Does anyone have an idea of what training or time-in-type the insurance industry may require to fly a pressurized Twin Cessna? I have almost 31,000 tt, mostly in jets, and about 160 hours in C-421/414/404/337 a LONNNNG time ago. Most recently been flying singles and a Chieftain.
Thanks

I would think you’d be good to go with previous time in type. Mine is a 310 and not far off in hull value. Mine only required 25 in type with 5 dual for insurance using Avemco.

They also gave me credit for recurrent training in the jet I fly for a living. They didn’t require recurrent training in the 310.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The main dividing line with requiring formal training for twins does seem to be Pressurized vs not, according to an insurance agent friend of mine.

Total time/etc may make a difference, but it seems most of the insurers do want to see formal simulator training in 340's and up. Three of my clients (340 owners) have had to attend a course this year. (They went to AST in Burnet, TX.)

However, a P-Baron client of mine just had to do 15 hours dual and 10 hours solo before carrying passengers. And he was a new multiengine pilot. So it does vary.

All you can really do is call an agent and talk it out. It's been changing rapidly.