Trouble deciding due to mission

Jon Stains

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Jon Stains
Hey Gents!,

First post, Im Jon and Im a 4th generation pilot workin on my license. Active duty is making it difficult but I won’t stop until I have it. I solo’d at 12 hours in a 1968 Piper Arrow and am now in the second stage of training. I am now looking for an aircraft as I get closer to finishing so that I can potentially build time to have a career in aviation, and also to get to see my children more often in SoCal. I am trying to stay in the 40-60k range. I have found a few PA-28R-200 that I like but am looking to see what you guys have seperately.

1) Needs to be able to carry 2-3 200 people and a 2 day bag

2) Low wing preferred as thats what i learned on and feel confident in.

3) fixed vs retractable not an issue

4) needs to be able to make the trip from Puyallup to Whiteman in a 4 day weekend without completely wearing me out.

I know this topic has been spoken about a lot but everyone always talks about -300nm trips. I need to go farther so figured my post was worth it. Im 6’1” and 220lb (athletic not fat, I think...)

I can’t comment on a specific recommendation but don’t throw out high wing options because you aren’t familiar with them. They fly practically the same.

Good luck on your search!

Depending on budget

PA24 (easy call)
C210
C185/180 (will haul but tight for fat folks)
U206
M7

As was said the wing position means nothing.

Don't forget the mighty Beech Sierra!
Three doors! Low wing! I'm also (formerly) athletic and 6'2" with two friends and bags. Makes that Arrow seem fast, except everyone gets their own door.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

Either an Arrow or Comanche!

Grumman Tiger:
- efficient, relatively fast for non retract
- excellent visibility for a low wing
- good parts support
- sliding canopy next best thing to AC
- excellent support at AirMods Nortwest in WA