Traveling to San Francisco (Wanting to fly around San Fran)

rkdF250

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Robert
I will attending the Apple WWDC conference next week and want to fly around the San Francisco area one or two nights next week. I have contacted a flight school to see if I can get a plane. I have been flying for over two years and really want to take advantage of being in the San Fran area. If you have any suggestions please let me know.

As I'm sure you may have noticed, much of San Francisco is under SFO class B airspace. You can get a clearance and transit if you want, but you can pretty much see everything just by underflying the bravo. The "go to" place to stop in if you're flying around is Half Moon Bay (KHAF.)

Now paging Miss Kimberly ...... Please pick up the white customer courtesy telephone...;)

He needs concise and too the point, not an Ernest Hemingway novel.

I'll be out of town, so I can't fly with you.

There are a number of flying clubs and FBOs all over the bay. There are no airports in the City; the closest with significant general aviation is Oakland. Check the AOPA Airports website. Or airnav.com if you don't have access.

Airspace is fairly nasty, but flight following will get you through almost all of it, even Class B, with a minimum of hassle. Just have alternatives in case KSFO is really stacked up. A transition through Oakland's Class C (at shocking-low altitude -- they will want you below 1500 to get out of the Class C shelf, and will transition you right over the 29 numbers) is often an option when Class B isn't.

Class B transitions are generally not a problem, but landing at KSFO is probably not gonna happen. The local procedure you're looking for is a "Bay Tour," which means a circular route with flight following, generally involving a Class B transition.