Took my first flight

abqtj

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
abqtj
Hi everyone, newbie here.

Some background:
My Dad apparently took flying lessons in the late sixties, a year or so before I was born. He quit when he ran out of $$, but it was always a huge passion of his (unbeknownst to me).

Fastfoward to last year, and he had been talking about maybe taking lessons again, now that he's been retired for a bit (71 yrs old). So I got him a discovery flight for Christmas and he loved every minute of it. He hunted around and found a school in the area to start taking lessons from. In the meantime, he did the online ground school at home, too.

First school something didn't really click real well, so he stopped there and found a flying club with instructors. Absolutely loves it.

Oh, he's getting a Sport Pilot certificate, not PPL. He decided he really just wants to be able to get up in the air and do some sight-seeing, no plans to ever "travel" or anything. So Sport Pilot seems like the way to go for him at this stage.

Anyway, I was visiting him about a week ago and wanted to go with him for his lesson last Saturday. He arranged it with the instructor to take me up for about 30 minutes after his lesson. I was pretty nervous leading up to it, but once in the plane (Remos GX) I enjoyed it. The bumps take a little to get used to, and the sensation of just sitting in the air with very little around you is weird, but it was a lot of fun.

Forgot to mention, flew with the doors off, too! Wasn't sure how I'd fare with that, but not once was height a concern. They leave the doors off for the summer due to the heat (Houston area). Get a lot of "air conditioning" coming off of the propeller!

Well, Dad will be out visiting me in a couple of weeks (Albuquerque) and I think we'll set up a discovery flight with one of the local flight schools here for me. Then, if all goes well and I want to continue, I'll start work on my PPL.

Welcome abqtj!