To buy or not to buy

Matt C

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Matt C
Hello all. I am new to PoA. Low time PP SEL in Michigan. I have an opportunity to purchase a 1966 C172 for around $20k. 3500 TTAF and 1500 SMOH, paint is ok, interior is useable, instrument/radio package is pretty good. I have searched threads here and purchasing sites elsewhere and I'm still struggling with the decision as I am doing this on a marginal budget and I understand that the TBO is 2000 hours. It sounds like that is going to make a $20k airplane a $30-32k airplane in the near future. Part of the reason that I am considering purchasing is that there aren't many great rental opportunities around my location. I would appreciate opinions about how others may look at this scenario. Thanks in advance.

Welcome to POA and Happy Thanksgiving. I dont have an opinion here but certainly others will. What kind of flying do you see yourself doing?

You can run the engine past 2000hrs if everything is sound. Get a pre buy inspection that will give you and idea of the condition of the plane.

You can do a lot better for 20k

Think beyond what you learned to fly in, youll be much better of for it

That is a good buy, and will be one of your cheapest options to fly. And, you will fly more if you own than if you rent.

Go for it, and enjoy it.

That is a good buy, and will be one of your cheapest options to fly. And, you will fly more if you own than if you rent.

Go for it, and enjoy it.

Sounds pretty good, so I agree as long as you get the prebuy. So 500 hours until TBO, that's a lot if you fly say 100 hours a year. Five years gives you time to build up that overhaul fund. ;)