Thinking about Buying my first plane.

Ever Beaumont

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
EverBeaumont
I am a new pilot ( just around 60 hours ) . I took a long break from my flight training, so I pretty much have to start all the way over (which is ok) but this time I was thinking of just purchasing my own plane instead of learning on a rental. It was something I had wanted to do from the beginning and now I'm in a better financial position to do it.

I wanted to get some opinions on what you think is a good starter plane to own. I plan to use the plane for recreational flying and traveling. Budget around $70k-$120k. Was looking at Cessna's, Piper Arrows,& Cherokees, cirrus sr20.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I'm located in Miami Fl.

Last edited:
I think it was @WannFly that said the purchase price is just a down payment for the maintenance bills. Allocate somewhere around 50%-100% for the first few years worth of MX.

That said, your budget might get you into an older Bo.

How many folks do you want to fly with you and how long do you expect to make your trips? Figuring out your typical mission is the first step.

How many folks do you want to fly with you and how long do you expect to make your trips? Figuring out your typical mission is the first step.
4 Passenger is fine. Im ok with a few hundred miles at a time.
I think it was @WannFly that said the purchase price is just a down payment for the maintenance bills. Allocate somewhere around 50%-100% for the first few years worth of MX.

Im ok with keeping up with maintenance. I currently own a transportation company. I spend about $4000/ month in maintenance lol. Im all to familiar with the pain of maintenance. Im ok with an older plane. god willing, id upgrade in 5-10 years.

4 Passenger is fine. Im ok with a few hundred miles at a time.