Tell me it'll all be okay

Skyscraper

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Skyscraper
Student pilot here feeling a bit overwhelmed with training. For those who don't know my background, I'm a student with a solo endorsement struggling pretty badly to find a CFI in my area and therefore guiding myself through most of the ground school work. Many times things click but more often I am feeling simply overwhelmed and have a "Am I starting in the right place?" kind of feeling when it comes to the various books and resources I'm using.

I feel like there is no chapter 1 to all of this training and I'm all over the place studying a little bit here and a little bit there. My knowledge is improving but I'm not sure if I'm using my time effectively and sometimes feeling lost amongst all of the headier definitions, and concepts. For the most part I am a verbal learner as opposed to a visual one, making all the solo book learning difficult.

Any other students feeling this way?

I really want to avoid feelings of discouragement as I truly love aviation and and fully committed to getting my ticket this Summer.

I guess, in short, I'm needing some encouragement and perhaps a little general study guidance from some of you POA veterans. This has been a pretty great resource so far.

Thanks in advance!

It'll be OK. :)

For the knowledge test / ground school stuff, I found the King Schools online course to be both highly corny and pretty effective. I had several books, but they seemed either disorganized or intended for use either in a classroom or with a CFI. I also had the Sporty's test prep - good for test prep, not as good for learning. There was another online course I looked at... ah, there it is. http://www.faa-ground-school.com/ was pretty good. Less expensive, too. But John & Martha did a good job despite some pretty old video and the slight Mr. Rogers / SNL music teachers vibe.