Tell me about older Bonanza's

Brad W

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
BLW2
Bonanza's have never really been on my radar to learn much about. As a young pilot I always just thought of them as uber high priced 6 place birds way out of my price range...and low wing to boot (most of my time is Cessna high wing).

Recently youtube routed me to a young lady flying her older V-Tail Bonaza (Stevie Triesenberg flying a 1952 vintage C35 Bonanza).

I know there are countless threads here that have touted and discussed Bonanzas and how they compare to others...Comanche's, Mooney's, etc.... but I never really paid all that much attention to the Bonanza side of those discussions before.
Stevie has sparked an interest to finally pay attention. Her plane seems to be a nice vintage example of a capable 4 place, and now that I'm older and a bit more financially grounded, I suppose I see them in a new light.

Are these the planes that have a magnesium tail assembly that is hard to replace? Is that why I see some older Bonanza's listed on sale sites with fairly low asking prices?

623723234fe38a91d33c8e8c3fbbf8fb.gif

I don’t know for a fact, but I seem to recall there was an A&D issued for the v-tail models that covered the elevon flutter problem. Perhaps someone more knowledgeable will chime in.

Most of the lower priced models probably have electric props, which IIRC can be difficult to service.