Taxiway closed by notam due to snow/ice

Getonit

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Mark
The airport I am based at has closed the taxiway to the hangars, I assume due to snow and ice, maybe 2-3 inches. I am not concerned about the safety aspect of it as I have plenty of experience dealing with it, summary is go slow and plan ahead. Runway is open, tower is open. I need to go somewhere Saturday morning and I don’t need to be held up by some moronic southern airport administrator. Can I legally ignore this? I am 100% sure I can’t, but wanted to see what the brain trust here thinks.

Call tower on the phone.

Just guessing, but they don’t want the liability of having someone assume it’s safe or usable, so just NOTAM it closed until it can be plowed or melt.

Keeps incoming planes via preflight brief from landing and later realizing they’ll be unable to access. Or folks thinking/expecting they could leave their home drome.

At your own risk. And don’t be “wreckless”.

Why not contact the airport manager or airport maintenance if they have one and ask? You may not always know the reason why something is notamed closed. Perhaps they will plow it if they know it's needed.

I think if this doesn’t scream hazardous attitude, it should.

I'm not exactly arguing it shouldn't, but I'm assuming the OP is from somewhere that it's cold and snowy 5 or 6 months of the year, and driving/taxiing on 2-3" of snow and ice is just the norm during those months. Sometimes, it can be a month or two of driving on roads that you can't see the pavement because of the snow and ice packed on top and nobody thinks anything of it. I definitely think that the OP should have phrased that differently, but if it's just ice and snow, I could see why he wouldn't be that concerned about it and would be upset if that was the only reason he couldn't get his trip done.