Suggestions on commercial and CFI

jsignaigo91

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Oakley0315
Hi everyone, new to this forum. Im looking for suggestions and opinions on finishing my commercial and CFI.

Long back story on me. Im from St louis MO. Which is where I did my private in 2015 and instrument last year. Im now working on my commercial and CFI initial. I was a automotive mechanic for over 11 years, decided that I wanted to be a CFI, I really enjoy instructing, aviation like for many has become a passion of mine. I have now moved to Tampa area with my girlfriend who is a traveling nurse for about 4 months, then were moving back to St Louis. Ive been lucky enough in life that I made good money for several years and have a good enough girlfriend that supports my aviation dreams. Ive quite my mechanics job in St Louis. Planed on taking a few months and get my CFI initial and finish my commercial at a school down here near Tampa.

In St Louis I really finished my commercial training. I had my check ride scheduled, had to cancel cause of April and May weather in midwest. DPE was so far out in scheduling couldnt really make it work because of the move to Tampa. I tried to do the best research on schools in area before we came down here. I explained my commercial situation to them. They told me I would have to get endorsed by one of their CFIs, Which I expected and totally understand. I really do like the CFI they gave me to work with. Guy is really on point and for the most part always learn something new when im doing a lessons with him. Ive flown about 6 or 7 hours with him and at this airport. The school itself has some issues with scheduling due to the volume of students. Its kind of annoying to say the least. But never the less im still there. My CFI has given me my commercial endorsement and is ready for me to schedule my checkride, still have to jump through some school hoops to schedule it.