Substitute CFI

Tony R

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Atrosa
I'm trying to take lessons at least 1 or 2 times a week, but my CFI is on a well deserved vacation. My question is it OK or bad form to have another CFI at the same school fill in one week so I don't go 2 weeks without flying? For reference, not that it matters... I'm a 53 year old student pilot. I work a bunch of hours in the investment world so my schedule is incredibly busy. I'm in no rush or a hard timeline, I just don't like to be inefficient. BTW my CFI is fantastic!

Absolutely it is ok. Any reasonable instructor will understand.

Exposure to another’s teaching style can be good. In fact, you may find a cfi who meshes better with your temperament & learning style (I, for one, cannot abide the constant stream of consciousness newer cfis spew into my headphones. Learning is an experiential experience for me...even if it’s watching as the instructor shows me how I should have done it.)

It’s your money. Spend it how you choose.

Always good to keep your skills up will get you ready for stage checks with different instructors.

Different instructors is definitely a good idea,different ones notice different things.If nothing else depends who it is it may make you thankful for the one you have lol

Put another way…. If your instructor has a problem with it, you have a problem.

I encourage it, occasionally demand it.

No problem. And if your fantastic CFI is reachable, ask them for a recommendation. Everything positive said above is true, and a fantastic CFI will be all for it.