sUAS Course Review (from an Applicant and CFI side)

JustinD

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
JustinD
So with all this sUAS stuff coming out, I figured I'd go ahead and get mine and do the course now, while its fairly simple before it becomes more complicated some day in the future! Plus its free and who knows, maybe it'll some day come in handy, worst case I spent some of my time on it and have an extra thing to talk about and toss on my resume. Just wanted to provide a little writeup on the course. Please forgive the long write up, but I'm bored at home and can't fly cause of classic Florida Weather. At the bottom I will go through what you need to do as an instructor to verify someones information as I have now done that as well. For the record I am not the FAA, I'm just a CFI and a pilot who has happened to do both of these so far and these were my experiences and what I observed. Please do not take it as official guidance

For us pilots its fairly simple so long as we have a current FR (or equivalent per 61.56) we are eligible to get the Remote Pilot Certificate with small Unmanned Aircraft System rating (sUAS) just by taking an online course and completing the test at the end of it (there are other ways but this appears to be the most simple). Then having a CFI, APD, FSDO, or DE verify your identification information and that it matches your course completion certificate. The course can be found at https://www.faasafety.gov its currently under Hot Topics, but can also be found by searching the course. You also get wings credit upon completion of the course. Prior to starting the course it says it takes about 2 hours to complete, I'd say they are just about right with that, I did it a little quicker and did it at a decent, but not quick pace. I spent the time to watch the videos and read it all. It is not boring, and can effectively be done in one sitting.