Students... What maneuvers do you do alone in practice area?

drotto

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
drotto
In the next few days I will be going on my first solo flight to the practice area. My cfi has already said that he does not care if I treat this as a "pleasure" flight because it will be my first time really up there alone, and I will have plenty of time to do maneuvers. With that said, what things do you feel comfortable doing alone as a student? I currently am restricted to less than 10 knots wind, 10 miles visability, etc.

I have done.
-steep turns
- turns around a point
-slow flight
-power on stalls
- power off stalls
- turns along a line
- short field take offs and landings
- soft field take off and landings
- emergency landings, including engine out and fire

I think that is about the list.

Talk with your instructor. I am an instructor and I would want one of my students asking me, not the internet, as it varies dramatically from student to student and situation to situation. A CFI/student relationship is a very important partnership where the details, especially with solo privileges, need to be very clear from all sides.

Pretty much my list too. Occasionally practice VOR work, as Catalina and Los Alamitos are easy to read.

Stalls (power on & power off), slow flight, and emergency landings aren't allowed by solo student pilots at my school.

Anything else is allowed once your instructor signs you off for solo. I still check with mine before going up though just to make sure.

You don't let students do things solo that they are required to demonstrate on the checkride? Very odd.

Talk with your instructor. I am an instructor and I would want one of my students asking me, not the internet, as it varies dramatically from student to student and situation to situation. A CFI/student relationship is a very important partnership where the details, especially with solo privileges, need to be very clear from all sides.

:yeahthat: