Student Pilot - Intro, thoughts, questions

Kross

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Kross
Kross's Journey to a PPL

***UPDATE 10/22/2013***
Updated the title of the thread to reflect more accurately what I had been using it for; my journey to a Private Pilot License.

---------------------------

Hello everyone!

I haven't really posted much on these forums until now but I wanted to thank you all nonetheless for being an incredible source of information for me!

Introduction
--I am a newbie; began my flight training last month in October 2012.
--I'm Part-61 and I usually only get to go out over the weekends due to my job and other responsibilities during the week.
--Thus far I have a little over 7 hours flight time. My CFI and I are "loosely" sticking to the Gleim course syllabus.
--I am training on an older (but in decent shape) Cessna 172M
--The aforementioned plane has zero extras; beyond the basic 6-pack, it really has nothing beyond the necessary RPM gauge, Oil gauges, VOR gauges, Hobbs, 2-Com cluster, and ironically an ADF unit which we haven't used.

Thoughts on my training thus far
--Due to the old-fashion-ness of the plane, the good thing is that I have learned to do things the "hard way".
--For example, this past weekend we did a 60+ NM trip spanning 2 airports and a refueling stop and I pre-planned and navigated the entire thing via landmarks and my handy paper sectional from 3,500ft cruising altitude.
--Also, I've gotten used to getting wind data from AWOS's closest to me via frequencies instead of turning to an app on a device.
--I am quick on polishing certain aviation skills such as navigation, controlled turns, traffic spotting, radio, and other general pilotage.
--Other skills I am still having a tough time with, such as: Smooth landings (I have, to date, had over 20 landings out of which 1 was a squeaky wheel, a handful were just "okay", and the rest were somewhat rough with 2 bumpy ones.)