Student Pilot...Advise?

Piperdriver

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Piper Driver
Student Pilot...Advice?

Hello All,

I am a new member here. I am looking for some advise from some experienced Pilots. I am currently getting my PPL. I am just under 30 hours in. I currently work as a Nurse, however, I don't think this will be my lifelong career. Flying has sucked up all my funds, taking out a loan to finish a PPL seems unrealistic and better saved for the commercial leg of the journey. I am considering putting the remaining of the flight training on a credit card that has no interest for two years... Thoughts on this approach? Any advise in general would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Going into debt for training can be very problematic. You're borrowing money to afford to fly and because of the debt you won't have money to fly, etc. It's a vicious cycle that can leave with a ticket, but no ability to fly. Be realistic about your time table and slow the roll if you have to in order to keep paying out of pocket.

Enjoy the journey!

Many of us here are "no debt for toys or recreation activities" types, including me. So I say no to your idea of the zero interest credit card.

While it sounds good upfront, there are many hidden landmines on your path of good intentions. Job loss, life emergencies, accidental late payment and much more could cause you to fall off the cliff and wind up owing a huge amount of interest payments.

As a nurse, I would hope you're well employed, maybe very well employed. With 30 hours of training, you're likely 2/3's of the way along, and might only need $2500-3000 to finish. If you shrunk other parts of your budget (such as no restaurants, cut out cable TV, shrink call phone to most basic plan, etc), how long would it take you to save up this extra money? How about if you took on an extra shift or two or picked up a bit more overtime?