Stratus/Stratux question

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Rgbeard, Jun 25, 2019.

  1. Rgbeard

    Rgbeard Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ and Ensenada, Mexico
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    rgbeard
    Do these things really need to be suction-cupped to the window for them to work well?

    If you place them in the back baggage area, out of sight, will they work anyway? Or just really do lousy? Or??

    Inquiring minds want to know.
     
  2. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,110
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    I believe remote antennae is an option. Toss it in the back baggage and run the antennae where you want it.

    Or toss it in the nice and toasty front baggage and power it with a Stirling engine. :)
     
  3. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    16,924
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    The tux uses SMC connectors for the antennas which aren't that great to begin with. Remoting them shouldn't be a big issue. Just be careful on air flow around it, the thing is barely holding its own coolingwise to begin with.
     
  4. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10,032
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    I know one pilot who has his Stratus mounted and hard-wired under the "dash" with no external antenna. Works fine. YRMV, of course. No way to know without trying.
     
  5. Possum

    Possum Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Frank
    I have a Stratux simply laying on the glareshield unattached. I tired very quickly of charging the battery before each flight so I have a cheap cigarette lighter/charger that keeps it powered during flight. I do keep the battery in the plane for a backup. My only issue with the Stratux occurred when it decided to quit working on a cross country trip. After an internet search I re-flashed the SD card and everything started back working as expected. I now keep a backup SD card in my bag in case of another failure. If you go with the Stratux keep in mind a power source [either battery or charger wire] will need to be attached.
     
  6. A1Topgun

    A1Topgun Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Central Maine
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ron
    I have mine in a Raspberry Pi 3D printed case on the glare shield with USB extension cables to the SDRs, then the short SMC connector cable to the antennas mounted at the windscreen side posts. Power from a battery pack. Had a Raspberry Pi Zero behind the panel with a Ping EFB antenna attached with Velcro to the side windscreen. Power was a 12V to 5v buck converter for the USB power plug. Removed the old setup as the USB buck converter was causing Signal to Noise interference with the Comm radios.
    I have talked with a few pilots who have had similar radio interference with the cigarette lighter USB 5v power adapters. If you use one, be on watch for reduced radio reception when it is plugged in.
     
  7. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    I use a Stratux/battery/suction-cupped to right back passenger window in my Cherokee. The battery I use is very thin and has its own built-in short cable, and it all fits in the RAM mount. Internal fan runs off controller on AHRS module and keeps things cool. When using the AHRS module, orientation and mountzsecurity of the Stratux is important; tossing it on the back seat or glareshield wouldn't work. I use two short attached antennae and an internal GPS module, and have never had any reception or interference problems. Current draw is so minimal that even the small 6000mAh battery I use has never gone below 75% after a two hour flight, but I do carry a backup just in case.
    The Stratux, built w/ good components, is pretty amazing. My A&P liked mine so much I built one for him.
     
  8. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10,032
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    Your setup - section cupped to a rear side window - is one a local flight training/rental operation uses in multiple aircraft, except the power source is the aircraft.
     
  9. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    I've considered using a lighter-plug USB power adapter and cable instead of the battery or installing a USB jack, but the battery setup is actually easier, less cables, and may be less interference-prone. Throwing a lighter plug adapter in my bag would probably be a good idea anyway.
     
  10. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    10,032
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    I use a strapped in battery too in the airplanes I fly (which do not have a built-in alternative - I haven't used my Stratux in the past year except to test it periodically). In this case it was the organization which was looking for an inexpensive ADS-B In solution so renter pilots didn't need to deal with it, including checking batteries. Works well.
     
  11. 455 Bravo Uniform

    455 Bravo Uniform En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    KLAF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    455 Bravo Uniform
    I power my Stratux through the lighter outlet. Extension cable to the baggage area. I place the Stratux on top of my combination step-stool and chock/oil/funnel container (just a 5 gallon bucket with lid), under the rear window. Some of that foam tool drawer padding and it stays put.

    I suppose I could run a cigar lighter outlet from my rear mounted battery to the hat shelf and do away with the extension cable. But that might run afoul of some reg, so I left it as is permanently.
     
  12. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    16,924
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    I hadn't even thought of the idea of extending the USB side of the radio rather than the antenna. That's a cool idea. We'll ignore the fact that the USB "extension" cables you used are likely illegal by the USB standard.
     
  13. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    My STRATUX is tucked into the corner between the panel and sidewall. I added some tape after it fell out a while back. The antenna is Velcro'ed to the glare shield and it's powered from a two outlet USB. The other outlet powers my tablet which is in a temporary panel mount. My STRATUX case has a fan so I want to keep it in the open and I can see the lights where it is mounted.
     
  14. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,584
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Mine’s velcro’d to the back left window, short antenna, and powered by the Appaero installed USB Stratus power. Backup battery, of course.

    Haven’t checked the stratux site yet, but wondering when they’ll support the new RPi 4 announced yesterday, 6/25.
     
  15. Gary

    Gary En-Route

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,243
    Location:
    Harleysville, PA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Gary
    My Stratux seems to work best with a suction cup mount on the rear window of my Cherokee. Didn't like it sitting on the glare shield, although it worked there fine.
     
  16. A1Topgun

    A1Topgun Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Central Maine
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ron
    I figured the USB side of the SDR is a powered digital signal and not RF it would be easy to extend 18" without signal loss. Is there a law that the SDR's plug into the Raspberry Pi? I don't want the Stratux police coming to issue a citation.
     
    Doug Reid likes this.
  17. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,945
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    I had my Stratux on top of the tank, behind the passenger seat with a partial view out the back window and the usual short antennas. It worked pretty well, but honestly it was enough hassle that I only used it occasionally. Now that the uAvionix setup is in and working great, I suppose I should sell it.
     
  18. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    16,924
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    There's no electrical or protocol problem, but the A to A cable you use kind of defeats what USB is supposed to be all about.
     
  19. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    At least as I understand it, the Stratux and Sky/TailBeacon do two different things... the uAvionix device incorporates a WAAS GPS to drive its adsB-out signal, but does not provide that gps signal nor adsB-in to any other device. The Stratux is an adsB-in receiver that, depending up on what you include when you build it, can also provide gps and AHRS information via wifi to most EFBs. How does your uAvionix setup obviate any benefits or functions of the Stratux?
     
  20. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,945
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    We didn't use the beacon. We installed the uAvionix EchoUAT and SkyFyx, which provides both UAT ADS-B OUT and ADS-B IN via wifi and serial, if you need that.
     
    MuseChaser likes this.
  21. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    Gotcha. Sorry for not remembering that uAvionix also makes those devices.. my fault.
     
  22. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    New panel.jpg

    Found the picture...My STRATTUX is in the window and tablet running AVARE is in the panel. Both are powered by the USB ports inthe panel. The antenna is on the glare shield with velcro
     
    c177tx likes this.
  23. MBDiagMan

    MBDiagMan En-Route

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,099
    Location:
    NorthEast Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Doc
    When I used a Stratux I simply put it in the baggage tray and it never failed me.
     
  24. Rgbeard

    Rgbeard Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ and Ensenada, Mexico
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    rgbeard
    This is great information!

    THANKS to all!
     
  25. cgrab

    cgrab Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    cgrab
    Today's flight was in three segments. The STATTUX didn't transmit in the middle section and I think it was because I started AVARE before I started the STRATTUX I/O app. Has anyone had a similar problem with the sequence of when to start the machines and the apps for ADS-B in?
     
  26. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,945
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    The newer version of Avare has the I/O built in, so I don't use the I/O app any more. Flick the bottom menu bar all the way over and you'll see "I/O", just turn it on there and you can remove the separate Avare I/O app.
     
  27. c177tx

    c177tx Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    New Braunfels, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    GWM
    must be a 68
     
  28. IK04

    IK04 Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    1,341
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    LNXGUY
    I think I'll try that. Mine must have overheated today because it quit sending GPS position, then failed altogether...

    I like the idea of keeping the Pi and AHRS hidden away from the heat and remoting all the worky bits up to the windshield/glareshield area...

    Let me know if you come up with some nice .STLs!
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2019
  29. A1Topgun

    A1Topgun Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Central Maine
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ron
  30. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    Out of curiosity, what did it cost you in materials to print that case? I've built a few for myself and othr pilots, but have always just bought the standard Stratux case, which includes a fan, and it was around $15. Is 3D printing cost-effective, or or is the appeal more its ability to do one-offs and unique personal fabrication as a hobbyist?
     
  31. A1Topgun

    A1Topgun Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Central Maine
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ron
    Material cost estimate for top and bottom is .83 cents. About two hour print time for each. I built an Anet A8 for about $150 plus $40 for safety upgrades (300W PS, MOSFETS, Power Switch) and it works well, not quite as good as the $3000 one we have at our library MakerSpace, but better price performance.
    I also do a lot of one off stuff, ie. end cap for a Thule bike rack, re-engineer a intermittent pellet stove top cover closed switch, etc, yadda, yadda.
     
    MuseChaser likes this.
  32. MuseChaser

    MuseChaser Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2019
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Central NYS
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MuseChaser
    Interesting.. hadn't looked at 3d printing seriously in quite a while, and hadn't heard of the Anet A8.. I thought you were talking about an audio power amp! Looks very intriguing... my wife is mad at you.
     
  33. A1Topgun

    A1Topgun Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Central Maine
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ron
    Assembly required. Check out the youtubes.
     
  34. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,584
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Temps were incredibly high today in Denver (of course we had hail last week and I turned on the furnace) so I need to move the Stratux to someplace not in direct sunlight. I'm dithering over the antenna extension cable vs the USB extension cable. Any preference/problems for the two? The USB extension cable is definitely cheaper.
     
  35. A1Topgun

    A1Topgun Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Location:
    Central Maine
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ron
    USB is a digital signal. Antenna extension cable is RF, which is analog. Analog loses signal over the distance of the cable and is more critical of length and type of cable.
     
    IK04 likes this.
  36. 455 Bravo Uniform

    455 Bravo Uniform En-Route PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,621
    Location:
    KLAF
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    455 Bravo Uniform
    No problems with the USB extension for me.
     
  37. flyingron

    flyingron Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    16,924
    Location:
    Catawba, NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    FlyingRon
    I don't seen any reason why the USB extension won't work, I was just pointing out that those cables are violations of the USB standards. As long as you don't exceed the USB length limit (about 15') you should be fine. The A-to-A cables are barred because they're afraid you'll cascade them to a length longer than that. The whole point of USB is that if you can stick a plug into a socket, it's supposed to work.
     
  38. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,584
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    New configuration....NooElect SDRs on a 1 meter USB cable. Works great but....the SDRs get somewhat warm because they are no longer inside the Stratux box with the fan running.

    Next problem....works with v1.2 but not the latest v1.5b2. Baffling. Even with the previous hardware config, v1.5b2 doesn't work.

    Any ideas? I've flashed the SD card, used a different SD card, no change.
     
  39. DaleB

    DaleB En-Route

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,945
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DaleB
    Define “doesn’t work”. Have you connected a monitor to see what errors, if any, are shown? If you’re familiar with Linux you should be able to see what’s getting logged. I didn’t see anything in the release notes about any hardware support getting dropped in 1.5b2, but I didn’t dig too deep.
     
  40. murphey

    murphey Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    8,584
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    Monitor and keyboard.....

    Doesn’t work ——-
    FF and WingX recognize the device.
    Unable to open 192.168.whatever.
    No towers or other aircraft in either app

    Everything fine using 1.2