Stick and Rudder nearly killed me and my CFI (long)

CharlieD3

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
CharlieD3
A long time ago, in a galaxy far away... I was a student pilot. I'd read about flying since I was about 10 or 11. I'd spend my allowance on bottles of soda and the latest issue of Flying magazine or (IIRC) Plane and Pilot or both. I loved reading about flying airplanes, more than I loved comic books! I wanted to FLY!

That was 50 years ago, almost 12 years before I started my journey to fulfill the dream.

I started the journey in 1978 (according to logbook #1, my only logbook, BTW)

My wife at the time bought me an introductory flight for 10 bux for my birthday, took me to the grass strip, and surprised me! .6 hours of ground instruction, and .4 in the air... I got to FLY the plane! I was almost 23 years old. WOW!

My second lesson was a month later, "T.O., climbs, descents, hold steep turns, traffic pattern. George Cobley" .8 hrs, .3 ground instruction... Great!

BTW, this was costing me 18.50 an hour for a Cessna 150, and $45 an hour for the instructor... If my math was right back then.

In all my reading about flying, I had read Stick and Rudder by Wolfgang Langewiesche about 6 times by then, and everything was lining up with my book learning...

Lesson 3, 1 week after #2.... The killer! Well, nearly. Log book entry: "Steep turns, Slow flt, Power off stalls George Cobley ### CFI-AI"

Bless his heart, he didn't say anything about the angels... I heard 'em, maybe he didn't?

Power off stalls....

George demonstrated. "Follow along," he said. Simple enough... My turn.

Remembering what I read, not what George taught me. What I read was (as I remembered at the time)"... in a stall, push the stick forward, all will be fine."