Speak Up, or Walk Away?

Art Rose

Ejection Handle Pulled
Display Name

Display name:
Art
I've always been more of a do-er than a watcher. I don't watch a lot of sports, and I'd rather be flying the plane, not on the ground watching.

That being said, I'd like to ask for your opinion about a situation today where I chose to speak my mind, and then walk away. Before someone misunderstands, it was definitely not the money, it was the principal that set me off. I'd also prefer not to use specific names and places.

For background, I've been flying GA for more than 30 years. I was a late bloomer because of the less critical wants and needs we all face in this journey called life, but because of my experience, I've always been very open and giving to anyone who displays even a hint or desire for anything aviation related. I highly prize the privilege that flight has brought to me, and I willingly share it with anyone, anytime. I've lost count of the number of first flights and joy rides I've given over the years. No need to go on any further with this.

A few years ago a small airport in our area decided to have a small fly in where anybody in the general area was invited to participate in a friendly little STOL competition. I wasn't there for that first gathering, but was told by one of the original participants that it was great. Not very many STOL capable machines, but everybody had a very good time. It was a good old fashioned grass roots fly in, the kind of stuff we used to do.

Anyhow, the next year the word started getting out, and before you knew it some of the bigger money STOL machines from around the country were involved, and eventually things were getting out of hand for the little airport, the fun was gone for the locals, and the so called, practice event, was moved to another airport in the region last year.