Soft field oops

What did I just watch? It wasn't soft field anything.

Sorry for the title...I thought the grass contributed somewhat. Obviously that "landing" would have bent metal on any surface, but maybe the nose wheel wouldn't have gotten buried on a paved surface. I'm a student, so maybe I just have soft field landings on the brain...

Looks to me like there was a miscommunication between pilot and passenger of just exactly what "Hold my beer for a minute" means. Whisky Tango Foxtrot?

What the heck was that? Looks more like a controlled crash landing than anything else.

I hangar on a grass field (sod). I talk to other bonanza owners and when they hear that it's almost like the see me as some test pilot. Grass is (most of the time) not unlike pavement. The biggest issue is takeoff performance. Get the numbers wrong with a lot of weight and you won't clear the trees.

Unless the field is very soggy (or something odd happens - like a deer popping out of the trees) the m more comfortable landing on grass than pavement.

Obviously- drive the grass strip first or call ahead for conditions. Otherwise- land normally.

What the heck was that? Looks more like a controlled crash landing than anything else.
"Controlled" is more charitable than I would be.

Looks like slow speed and more than required bank at the end there and it was a low level stall probably. Plenty of runway, why they thought they needed to land on the first two feet is beyond me.

You can tell he tried to pull up there at the end...

Hard to know what happened...

Back side of the power curve with no energy left to stop the descent?

Sudden downdraft or wind shear right at the end of the approach?

I thought at first that you might have made a typo in the title and were actually asking about soft field ops.
No question here. Pilot error.
But glad that they're all okay. It could have been worse.

Hard to know what happened...

Back side of the power curve with no energy left to stop the descent?