Reverse sensing with a GPS

coloradobluesky

En-Route
Gone West
Display Name

Display name:
coloradobluesky
I have experienced reverse sensing in a GPS (two IFR GPS's, one King KLN90B and the other Garmin 430). Now I'm no expert, but just thought I'd start a thread about reverse sensing with a GPS. Some units may be immune (or partially immune). Some may reverse sense. Not really sure. All units seem to self correct with an additional "Goto". Seems to me my Garmin 295 handheld reversed sensed also. And...someone showed me his model, and it didn't seem to do it much (corrected itself once you moved a just a little). Anyone know the latest? Are they designing reverse sensing out of the most modern GPS's or are they leaving it in?

If you are using your GPS in OBS mode, it will mimic a VOR no?

There is no such thing as "reverse sensing" in GPS's or VOR's (and it's a misnomer due to lack of understanding of how the system works with LOC's). If you think you are experiencing "reverse sensing" with a GPS, my first thought is that you are either operating it improperly or misinterpreting its displays. My second thought, if I saw the needle really was swinging the wrong way, would be that it is improperly installed.

There is no such thing as "reverse sensing" in GPS's or VOR's (and it's a misnomer due to lack of understanding of how the system works with LOC's). If you think you are experiencing "reverse sensing" with a GPS, my first thought is that you are either operating it improperly or misinterpreting its displays. My second thought, if I saw the needle really was swinging the wrong way, would be that it is improperly installed.

I have a feeling he is using it improperly. I've used a King GPS as well as a 430 and now im doing instrument/commercial training in a g1000. If they got rid of reverse sensing in an HSI, theres no way they'd leave it in a GPS which is much, much more advanced than a GPS.

Easiest way to explain it is this: