Really about flight following #2

4RNB

Line Up and Wait
PoA Supporter
Display Name

Display name:
4RNB
As a very new pilot I have very limited experience with flight following, pretty much point to point, though at times going around restricted areas.

I am hoping to soon take some longer flights that can't easily be done direct. For example, might need to avoid DC, Camp David, and might prefer to avoid Harrisburg. So I've set up a plan to go from home airport to destination via several waypoints, at least one of which I plan to stop at along a proposed 3 hr 20 min flight.

What is the normal conversation like when requesting flight following when it is not done direct? Does it matter? What should I be telling them and what do they want to know? I assume along the way I can just cancel FF, but what if I just fly a bunch of legs?

Thanks

Not a big deal. Tell them your planned stop as your destination on your first leg. Be ready to provide your on-course heading. They don't care where you go, just give them a rough idea. Pick it up again for your second leg. Don't try to mix up the two into one request.

Easy day in my part of the country. I tell them my destination via whatever my checkpoint(s) are and they never seem to mind the extra info and they don't ask if I'm off course when they see I'm not flying direct.

Sometimes you’ll get a “state your intentions” or “what is your on-course heading” or “what is your next point of navigation” but they are just trying to figure out which sector to pass you on to, not because they are annoyed or really care.

Tell them exactly what you want to do

This, I tell them what I want to do. For instance, sometimes I fly to P town, Massachusetts from the home drome. If I ask for flight following direct, it takes me 50 miles over the icy cold atlantic ocean. So I tell them I'm going to p-town via the cape cod shore line. I tell them up front so they know what I'm up to and don't have to ask.