Reality check, right-of-way in actual conditions

LongRoadBob

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Jacker
I'm studying more for the "Air Law" section of the exam.

I'm in Europe (Norway, which is using SERA and ICAO) and have been a trying to understand the specifics of right-of-way. I mean, the text is clear enough as far as it goes.

I get that "at about the same altitude" (paraphrasing) an aircraft from your right has the right of way and you are then to fly behind it, at least not under, over, or continue in your flight path.
You are to fly towards behind the aircraft on your right to avoid chance of collision.

How far away or how close before these actions should be taken?

I'm thinking if I see a plane coming up on my right side, just the fact that I can SEE it, how far away would it be on say a clear day? And then, I think if the other aircraft is a ways away, I don't know his plans, if he may be thinking of banking left (in which case if I start banking to get behind him AS IF he had continued on his path) and does it, as I am trying to get behind, I am now becoming the plane on the right.

I'm thinking too much about this, or too obsessively, right?

I just imagine that not yet being used to speeds we fly at, I imagine by the time I see the other plane there is not that much time to decide, and since we aren't stuck to keeping to a "road" or anything, he could do anything at that point? Could have not seen me, intend to bank one way or the other, etc.

How does this actually work?

Being it is Europe I have not a clue
See and be seen has worked since Orville and Wilbur, here
In Europe? (shrug)
Ask your CFI

I'm studying more for the "Air Law" section of the exam.

I'm in Europe (Norway, which is using SERA and ICAO) and have been a trying to understand the specifics of right-of-way. I mean, the text is clear enough as far as it goes.