Quicken has gone subscription now.

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by flhrci, Dec 23, 2017.

  1. wsuffa

    wsuffa Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,705
    Location:
    DC Suburbs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bill S.
    That's another factor in the cloud-based subscription services: switching costs with limited ability to export.

    The new database encryption will be sold as "security enhancement". And the data will be in the cloud making it harder to get.
     
  2. Norman

    Norman En-Route Gone West

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    4,861
    Location:
    cone of confusion
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KPTK
    Being the grouchy old fart I am I'm still running Quicken 2002, but like someone else said I only use it as a check register. I love the ease with which it reconciles every month provided the idiot doing the entries doesn't get fat fingers in the process.

    Re cloud storage: Include me out. I don't keep much personal information in my 'puter but what is there I have no intention of putting somewhere easily hacked into.

    My two cents.
     
  3. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,324
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Thanks. Was the change from Excel to OO easy? Similar syntax and formulas? Even better, will it open Excel files and then save them in their format?
     
  4. luvflyin

    luvflyin Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5,324
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Luvflyin
    Thanks. That's twice now someone has recommended Open Office. I'm going to check it out
     
  5. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17,746
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    OO can use and save in various excel formats. Formula and syntax are the same for the most part. Some built-in functions may be different. Basic programming is the same except for when it isn’t. Addressing cells in basic is one of the places it isn’t which is disappointing. Reading and writing cells is fast in VBA, not so much in OO basic.
     
  6. NoHeat

    NoHeat En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    17
    If you don’t use data from Quicken, you don’t need to update Quicken.

    I use Quicken only for tracking investments in securities. My workaround, to avoid updating Quicken, is twofold:
    - enter transactions manually (no syncing with the broker)
    - import quotes from a csv file (I use quotes from Yahoo —the key thing is don’t use Quicken for quotes).

    I can use the same old Quicken version for years that way. And I certainly won’t get a subscription.

    It’s also possible to buy old versions of Quicken on eBay.
     
  7. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,975
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    My CC subscription expires in late January. I'll probably be canceling. I've found substitutes that work well for my workflow for my two most-used Adobe programs: NetBeans (with local XAMPP running Apache/PHP and MySQL) actually works better for me than Dreamweaver; and Affinity Photo is an acceptable, albeit not perfect, replacement for Fireworks for the uses I make of it.

    I really don't use most of what Dreamweaver offers anymore, and I don't use the most recent versions. I never use the WYSIWYG design pane except as a live preview, and I frankly like Netbeans' browser approach better. I've essentially been paying for nothing the past year or two because I hand-code more than I used to and don't like the updated versions. The same goes for Fireworks, which isn't even supported anymore and misbehaves more with every Windows Upgrade; and Premiere Pro, which just gets heavier and more resource-hungry with no discernible improvement in functionality.

    Still, I'm still not sure what to use to replace Premiere Pro. There are many choices that would suit my simply editing needs, but I invested a lot of time learning Premiere Pro and kind of hate to do it all over again with something new. But I hate Adobe and their subscription model even more.

    And that most likely will be when I go back to Linux.

    Rich
     
  8. flhrci

    flhrci En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,200
    Location:
    Ashville, OH
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    David
    I have tried several flavors of
    Linux over the years and I can’t seem to get the hang of it more than just browsing. Software installs confound me. Need a class on Linux I suppose or I am fined to forever use Linux. MacOS is too pricey to get hardware wise despite be no “free.”


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,975
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    Linux really wasn't designed as a desktop operating system. I find the best desktop Linux distros a bit clunky in that role. But it I can do what I need to do.

    I'm working pretty frantically to find replacements for Adobe's software that fit into my workflow so I can cancel my subscription. I'm not going to take on another subscription if MS decides to go that route. I'd rather deal with the Linux desktop clunkiness. My personal favorite desktop Linux is Mint, which seems a lot more stable to me than Ubuntu, but can take advantage of Ubuntu's popularity in terms of desktop software. But I can make CentOS do what I need it to do on the desktop, as well. If I have to build from source, then I'll build from source. I'm not going to be held hostage to any more subscriptions. Period.

    As for the software itself, it really all comes down to clicks. There are plenty of apps that can do what I need to do -- many of them FOSS -- but I'm looking for replacements that don't increase my total clicks too much. For example, I can do everything I need to do image-wise with GIMP. But it takes a lot more clicks. It's like Photoshop in that regard: It really wasn't designed for simple stuff. It's powerful, but sometimes all that power gets in the way of repetitive, simple editing.

    I'm presently looking at DaVinci Resolve to replace Premiere Pro. The free version seems to do what I need it to, but I have to learn to do it quickly. I've also found ways around Affinity Photo's quirkiness as a replacement for Fireworks. Of course, neither of those programs work on Linux, so I may be going through this all over again in the future.

    Rich
     
  10. Rushie

    Rushie Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    I guess I need a Linux OS as idiot proof and simple to get up and running as possible. I'm probably waiting until I see a lot more people in the lay population use it before I take the plunge. I perceive it as something you need to be a little more techie than myself to use. Although that might not be a bad thing. But if Windows goes to subscription I think that will finally be motivation enough for me to switch. I've been loathe to mess with my current set up.
     
  11. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17,746
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    Ubuntu is about like Windows in terms of "techie" to get running with a simple, functional install. Open office is available and that along with a web browser covers most of what I need these days. I've seen bad and good releases of Ubuntu - it's come a long way over the years.
     
  12. Rushie

    Rushie Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    What I need is to install it on a practice machine first I guess. To do that I will need something called "a round tuit."
     
  13. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17,746
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    A round tuit and a thumb drive. It will run from a thumb so ya don’t have to change the machine’s setup.
     
  14. Rushie

    Rushie Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    OOOOOHH!!!! This is big!! My husband gave me a Corsair 256GB flash drive for Christmas. You have just made my day. I didn't know I could run the OS from a thumb drive.:blowingkisses::yesnod:
     
  15. Clark1961

    Clark1961 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    17,746
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Display name:
    Set the boot sequence to include usb in the bios. Other trick is to unplug hard drives so ya can’t mess them up by mistake.
     
    Rushie likes this.
  16. BillTIZ

    BillTIZ Final Approach

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,054
    Location:
    0L7, VGT
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BTIZ
    I’ve used Quicken for home use for years, running a 2016 standalone, manual entry. I’ve been getting bugged about upgrades but have not done it yet. Maybe I should start thinking spreadsheets.

    Flying club uses quickbooks pro. Ran an upgrade last year, very useful for managing member accounts. Not sure we are ready to go to subscription mode.
     
  17. Anymouse

    Anymouse En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Clinton, AR (Sometimes)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Total Stud Bush Pilot
    I HATE subscription software. They'll have to drag me kicking and screaming to use it.

    Currently using Banktivity. I was thinking of switching back to Quicken with their latest update, but when they decided to do the subscription thing, that pretty much nixed that idea.

    Same thing with my logbook. Fortunately, I got grandfathered in with LogTen Pro. Great software, but like hell if I'm going to pay an annual fee for it.

    If push comes to shove, I'll get a DB program and do my own thing.

    BTW... OpenOffice is good and I won't have a problem going back to that if necessary.
     
  18. Jim_CAK

    Jim_CAK Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim_CAK
    I use Quickbooks for our flying club. I was using an old version - I think 2010. I upgraded the PC to Windows to 10 a while ago with no issues. At some point a few months later, one of the automatic windows updates broke Quickbooks. I dug around on the QB forums and it was a common problem. QB would not release a patch - saying it was Microsofts issue. I ended up buying a new version of QuickBooks to keep it going - no discount - I had to pay full price for a new version. I need to look for something else to use before we get ransomed into the subscription model. If anyone has suggestions I would like to hear them. I am looking for something I can do simple billing and email each member an invoice for the month and a statement that has their running account balance.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2017
  19. jnmeade

    jnmeade Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Meade
    I've been using LibreOffice on my non-desk-top computers. I bought the Office install for the desktop PC once but not the subscription. A couple of years ago when I looked at it, I liked LibreOffice better than OpenOffice. Does anyone have any current comparisons?
    I, too, have threatened to go Linux but never tried one. I have enough extra computers lying around that I should just set one up and see if I like it.
     
  20. Ghery

    Ghery Final Approach

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    9,250
    Location:
    Olympia, Washington
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Ghery Pettit
    A few points and experiences...

    Back in the old days (we're talking 30+ years ago) all software on computers was by subscription. You didn't buy software, you rented it. Of course, that was mainframes and mini-computers (DEC VAX 11/780 and the like).

    Quicken is great, until your bank limits the versions you can use to download banking information. B of A does this today. Even if Quicken doesn't cut you off from downloading, your financial institution might.

    I use the download version of Office on this laptop, and will switch to it in the future on new laptops. Why? Because a 5 copy license is far cheaper over the expected lifetimes of the computers than buying a non-subscription version. If the computers lasted years this story might be different, but I just had to reload the OS (wiping out everything on the harddrive - fortunately, all backed up on other computers) on a laptop that was maybe 5 years old. I don't know how it got corrupted, but a start-from-scratch installation was the only solution. I wonder if I still have the installation code for Office on that machine?

    I'm using Quick Books 2015 on my consulting laptop. I will NOT upgrade that, it already does far more than I need. As I enter everything by hand I don't care about connectivity to any financial services.

    In general, I agree with the objections to shifting to subscription models, but sometimes they do make sense. You should have a choice, however, and oftentimes you don't have that choice.
     
  21. Rushie

    Rushie Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    I swear it is hard not to believe in conspiracy theories when it comes to this sort of thing. Your story is one more reason I'm going to hold off on 10 as long as I can.
     
    Jim_CAK likes this.
  22. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,975
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    I think it's nothing but good, old-fashioned greed. When people have software that does what they need it to do, they're disinclined from upgrading. Subscription models force them to pay for upgrades they don't need.

    The problem with that approach is that it usually backfires. Other companies come out with cheaper, but perfectly functional software, or the FOSS community puts something out for free.

    Rich
     
    Jim_CAK likes this.
  23. Anymouse

    Anymouse En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Clinton, AR (Sometimes)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Total Stud Bush Pilot
    I'm really hoping that's what happens in this case. Quicken has been the king of home finance software for so long that they've become too big for their britches. Nothing like a bit of consumer backlash to bring folks back to Earth though.
     
    Jim_CAK likes this.
  24. Skyrys62

    Skyrys62 Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    1,828
    Location:
    Owensboro, KY
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Skyrys62
    Just for FYI purposes: one can uninstall Windows 10 updates if it breaks something.
    Here's a link if anyone is interested. Many others available

    https://www.howtogeek.com/235474/how-to-roll-back-builds-and-uninstall-updates-on-windows-10/
     
  25. NoHeat

    NoHeat En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    17
  26. Anymouse

    Anymouse En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Clinton, AR (Sometimes)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Total Stud Bush Pilot
  27. Everskyward

    Everskyward Administrator Management Council Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    31,829
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Everskyward
    Banktivity has a subscription if you want the download feature. I get that people don’t like automatic downloading, or don’t want to pay for it, but that’s one of the features I like best in financial programs.
     
    flhrci likes this.
  28. jnmeade

    jnmeade Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Eastern Iowa
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim Meade
    I am specifically looking for software that resides only on my PC and doesn't have any interaction with the internet - no downloading, no cloud, no nothing. I have a moderately complicated set of books, with the farm, aviation income, writing, several banks, investments, etc, and am happy to make all entries and balance the books manually. I guess I'm looking for a glorified check register. I don't want double entry - I'm too old to learn and fool with it.
    What I'm getting at is many of the apps mentioned and the reviews I've read don't get very specific about whether they are PC based, cloud based, have to have internet interaction, etc., and I hate to go through the trouble of downloading them, testing them and deleting them. Maybe I'll have to. I suppose I'll have to see if I can go through the documentation on each of them to determine that.
    Maybe I'll have to stick with Quicken and never upgrade. I wish I hadn't made the last couple of upgrades, but I figure I'm stuck now.
    Call me paranoid, but on this topic of stand-alone finances I will not change if I have to go back to paper and pencil.
     
  29. Anymouse

    Anymouse En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Clinton, AR (Sometimes)
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Total Stud Bush Pilot
    I keep forgetting about their pay to download deal. Obviously I don't participate. However, the accounts that count most for me are free to download, so it's all good.
     
    Everskyward likes this.
  30. Jim_CAK

    Jim_CAK Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jim_CAK
    I agree - I don’t want anything in the cloud. I am just as paranoid. Every time I turn around, some other company that has my data has had a breach.
    I was not going to ever udate Quickbooks either but Microsoft fixed that for me. The Windows 10 update went fine. One of the subsequent .x updates broke something in the old version of Quickbooks I was using. I dug around on QB forums and found out it was a common problem. Some of the IT types said a simple patch would have fixed the issue but Quickbooks official response was to contact Microsoft.
    I bought another software package that said it could read the company file but I found out the hard way I needed to unlock the company file in QB before it could be read by the other software. I gave up and bought the upgrade. I would like to find another option.
     
  31. MajorTurbulence

    MajorTurbulence Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    MajorTurbulence
    From swampfox201

    "I’m using Quckbooks 2013 on my Mac. It does everything I want but I realize someday I’ll have to upgrade. So is there a newer version of Quickbooks for the Mac? I’m just seeing Quicken. "


    When getting messages that I would no longer be allowed to download bank transactions with the 2013 version, I purchased the 2016 version for mac instead of doing the subscription. This should buy me a couple of years I hope.
     
  32. NoHeat

    NoHeat En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    17
    Your recent version of Quicken should work for many years, if you are happy to enter data manually.

    Just keep your installation disc for when you upgrade PCs. If you don’t have a disc, you can buy one on eBay for an old version of Quicken.
     
  33. wsuffa

    wsuffa Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,705
    Location:
    DC Suburbs
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Bill S.
    Maybe.

    Microsoft has had a nasty habit of issuing upgrades that break things on older software and drivers. One of their "upgrades" broke the driver on one of my dvd drives. It also broke some of the search functionality on an older version of outlook. Something else, too, but trying to remember what.
     
  34. Rushie

    Rushie Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    That just happened to me when a windows 7 update broke my Doom3 game. I had identify and uninstall the offending update. But do I remember correctly with windows 10 it's a lot harder to manually review and decide when to install updates or to uninstall one?

    But so far, knock on wood, my Quicken 2000 is still running like a champ.
     
  35. timwinters

    timwinters Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    12,487
    Location:
    Conway, MO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    LTD
    The one that pizzes me off is Quicken makes me stay logged into quicken.com even though I don't use one step update. I download transactions directly from my bank and CC co.

    I don't WANT to be tied to their server when communicating directly with my financial institutions. F Quicken. It'll soon be time to go to plan "b".
     
  36. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    14,070
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew

    I know, this thread is getting stale, but it's relevant to me tonight. We run a very old version of Q, too, pretty much only as a check register. But I do run end of year reports for tax purposes. Now that PC (XP) is dying, and I need to install Q on a newer system, probably our Mac. From what I've seen this evening, Q claims (In their Terms Of Use):

    >>>
    Quicken Data Access Guarantee. When your Membership ends certain features will no longer be available. These may include, without limitation, features such as download, data sync, mobile sync, quotes, and any other Products and Services that require online access or are provided by a third party (including our Suppliers).

    Our Data Access Guarantee ensures that you will always be able to have access to your transaction data even after your Membership ends. Using manual data entry, you will be able to add new transactions and accounts to your data files. You will also be able to access, view, and export your financial data using currently supported formats and file types.

    NOTE: THE DATA ACCESS GUARANTEE DOES NOT INCLUDE ANY DATA BACKUP OR STORAGE FEATURES. ALL DATA WILL RESIDE ON YOUR DEVICE. ANY DATA THAT YOU FAIL TO MANUALLY BACK UP MAY BE LOST AND UNRECOVERABLE. YOU ASSUME FULL RESPONSIBILITY FOR MAINTAINING BACKUP COPIES OF ALL SUCH DATA FOLLOWING TERMINATION OF YOUR MEMBERSHIP.
    <<<


    BUT - in another part of their website they have this nugget:

    "The Data Access Guarantee applies to Deluxe and higher versions of Quicken; the Starter version will become read-only."

    So the $35 version (Starter) bricks. It doesn't say if the data file will become permanently read only.

    The other trick I have to figure out is how to upgrade our data file from that old version to an intermediate version to the current version. They have a process for that, but it's probably not as easy as they claim.

    Do any other products import or use Q data files?
     
  37. murphey

    murphey Final Approach

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7,892
    Location:
    Colorado
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    murphey
    A reasonable implementation of linux runs on an 8 gb flash drive, e.g Raspberry Pi. But a 32gb drive is much better. But be warned....flash drives were not and are not designed to be used as the main drive....they can get very warm.
     
    Rushie likes this.
  38. NoHeat

    NoHeat En-Route

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,498
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    17
    Thanks for that info.

    When I wanted to update my data file (saved using Quicken 2010 or thereabouts) so that it would be readable by Quicken 2017, I ordered from eBay a version in between, maybe Quicken 2014, and installed that just for the purpose of opening and then saving my data file in a newer format. That worked.

    Regarding other apps that can read a Quicken data file? Well, data files from older versions could be opened by Microsoft Money, for the purpose of migrating to that product.
     
  39. Rushie

    Rushie Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,619
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    You Need A Budget does. I'm pretty much transitioning to using that as my only register, after - wow - 18 years of my Quicken (I'm using Quicken 2000).

    I bought the stand alone version of You Need A Budget before they went subscription a couple of years ago so I can only speak from first hand experience to that one. It easily imports transactions in the QIF format either 2 digit or 4 digit.

    You Need A Budget "classic" I think they call it, will upload your data to your DropBox account and from there keep all your devices current. But your data resides on your local machine(s). For security I have no identifying information in the program such as account numbers or names.
     
  40. Matthew

    Matthew Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    14,070
    Location:
    kojc, kixd, k34
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Matthew
    I just picked up Q 2018 Deluxe at Sam's Club this afternoon. Same price as the sale price on the Q website ($45), but it's a 2yr subscription at Sam's vs the 1yr from Q direct.
     
    EppyGA likes this.