Private Pilot Checkride Aircraft Requirments

Lawson Laslo

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
N2005H
Hello, I own a 1946 Ercoupe with rudder pedals. I am currently a student pilot and was wondering when it come time for my check ride what are the requirements for my aircraft (ie. required equipment etc...)?
Thank You

The required equipment for his aircraft to operate under VFR is covered by FAR 91.205b & c.
Isn't he asking what additional equipment is required to take a Private Pilot checkride in his plane?

91.205 only addresses the minimum equipment required for any aircraft to be airworthy for flight.
Appendix 7 of the Private Pilot ACS refers to 61.45, Practical tests: Required aircraft and equipment. But that doesn't specifically address the question, it just says equipment necessary to demonstrate the required tasks. I assume your Ercoupe with rudder pedals would be capable of this, I'm not sure, though. For crosswind t/o and landing, the ACS just says proper control manipulation and directional control, which could be maintained even with the Ercoupe without separate rudder control. But, another question, can you Forward Slip an Ercoupe without the rudder control?
Probably the bottom line, if in doubt, ask the examiner which you intend to employ for your checkride.

91.205 only addresses the minimum equipment required for any aircraft to be airworthy for flight.
Appendix 7 of the Private Pilot ACS refers to 61.45, Practical tests: Required aircraft and equipment. But that doesn't specifically address the question
It doesn’t specifically address it, because there’s nothing to address. An airworthy aircraft that meets the requirements prescribed in 91.205(b)&(c) is all that’s needed.

It doesn’t specifically address it, because there’s nothing to address. An airworthy aircraft that meets the requirements prescribed in 91.205(b)&(c) is all that’s needed.