Primary/Supporting Instrument Flying

Steve Job

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Steve Job
I'm studying for the "test", and other than rote memorization, I can't seem to find a way to get this method through my thick noggin. The control/performance method seems so much more elegant. Any hints out there on how to make sense of this "official" method?
Thanks!

http://www.flightinstructortheresa.com/primary___supporting_instruments.pdf

I used to think that the primary/supporting method didn't make much sense. But now that I have a little more time under my belt, I've found it's actually how I fly naturally. It's a simple matter of realizing what instrument will give you the most precise and pertinent information for each maneuver, and what instruments most naturally back up the information presented by those "primary" instruments. Memorizing the different primary/supporting pairings is obviously important for passing the knowledge and oral exams; but when you're actually flying, what's important is that you have the wherewithal and understanding to accurately determine where to get the information you need and how to verify it.

Thanks Matt. I have found that my IQ drops about 20 points while under the hood, so I don't have much brain power to spare analyzing which instruments to look at during each specific flight maneuver based on that chart. Maybe one day it will become natural, but for now I guess I need to buckle down and memorize! I was hoping that if I understood the underlying concepts better, I could simply derive the answers, which (for me) makes it much easier to learn.