PPL

You soloed without a Student Pilot Certificate? If so that's illegal. If your CFI allowed you to solo without a valid medical AND the SP Certificate, that CFI could be violated.

As for whether your illegal solo time will count I don't know, but my guess is a big no.

Last edited:
Certificates can be reissued, due to being lost, for example, in which case the date is the date it is reissued, not the original. Examiner won't know that you didn't have one just by looking at the date.

It's been some time since I was a student. Isn't the student certificate the first medical certificate that you receive?

It's been some time since I was a student. Isn't the student certificate the first medical certificate that you receive?

The SPC is now separate from the Medical. One has to go thru IACRA to apply for the SPC.

-------

Last edited:
How long ago was this, per chance could this have been a solo on a old pre IACRA BS student pilot cert?

Yes IF your solo time was pre IACRA and your combination Med/SPC was endorsed you're good.

----

Last edited:
Wow. I just started training this week and was under the impression you needed your medical and were good. I guess I need a certificate with the quickness!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Wow. I just started training this week and was under the impression you needed your medical and were good. I guess I need a certificate with the quickness!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Back in the day (~5 years ago) the medical and student pilot certificate were issued on the spot upon completion of the 3rd class medical exam. It was an easy way to kill two birds with one stone.

Now, I don’t know what they do.

Now, I don’t know what they do.
There was both a reason from the FAA and some discussion on PoA as to why it got split up. But I have forgotten both....

Perhaps someone can enlighten us?

There was both a reason from the FAA and some discussion on PoA as to why it got split up. But I have forgotten both....