PPL oral - weak subject areas

Arob16

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Arob16
Hey folks - I wanted to see what everyone's thoughts are on private pilot oral preparedness and weakness areas. Either as a CFI, examiner, or student - what do you feel the biggest gaps are or "weakness areas" are when it comes to student readiness for the oral exam? Multiple topics if needed. I'm interested to see what others' responses are to this.

My observations: Deeper understanding of air worthiness (i.e. how to look up AD's, 91.213 etc), physics/aerodynamics, weather theory

Thanks all
Adam

I was weak on weather. So that is the area I studied a ton before my oral. It helped that my CFI sat down and did a mock oral exam a couple of weeks prior to my actual test. I did ok on weather, but he wanted me to be able to really go deep on the prog charts and what was really happening with weather systems that affect us as pilots. I studied like crazy and two things happened - 1. I aced the oral and impressed the hell out of the DPE with knowledge of weather tools, theory and how to use it all to be a safe pilot and 2. I became a weather junkie and will review weather products even if not flying just because it is so damn interesting.

Highly recommend students getting your CFI to do a mock oral with you. You will realize the areas where you need to brush up or go deeper.

All the above + remember it's open book. Mark up your AIM with areas that are very dense or procedural. My DPE hit my strong stuff first. What is your XC plan, why this particular routing, is the weather OK? He started looking for something to trip me up on, so he asked me what would change if we went at 14k msl, instead of the 6 in my plan. Went through wind, he then went "What else?". Stumped for a sec, then Oxygen! What I could not remember was the nuances of 30 minutes vs longer. Went to the AIM and answered in detail.