Power setting for slow pass, crosswind practise

hogges

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
hogges
Hi all,
I am a student pilot, just past solo, and have a question regarding the execution of a slow pass as demonstrated by John King in their free crosswind training video (youtube has it, also of course on the Kingschools website). John is demonstrating the effects of rudder and ailerons as he is staying some 20 feet or so off the ground for most of the length of the runway and then executes a go-around. From the looks in the video he has quite a bit of flaps down while doing so.

My question is: How do you turn a normal landing final approach into such a slow and low pass, without risk of accidental touch down or bouncing? I would think that quite a bit of power would need to be added just before what would normally be the final flare?

It seems like a risky maneuver if you don't know what you are doing. I plan on practicing it up high next time I fly before attempting it at a runway.

Thanks,
Wolfgang

Have you discussed this with your instructor? Might want to do that if you haven't. Your CFI should be willing to demonstrate or guide you thru it.

mscard88: I plan on doing so. My CFI was busy teaching other people these past few days, and too much crosswind for me to go solo, hence my attempt to think this through while grounded.

Enough power to keep your speed at Vy in level flight just above the runway, but not enough power to cause you to climb. Keep the hand on the throttle and try it. If you start coming down, more throttle. If you start climbing, less throttle. Keep an eye on the airspeed. Fly the airplane. Don't get too slow.

Last edited:
Fly to the infinity point and eyes on the infinity point, pitch for airspeed, power for altitude, feel the plane, power as required. If your mains chirp, just add a little power to get them back off, or pull power and land, ain't not thang ;)