Pilot or Captain?

MDeitch1976

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MattCanFly
My Father asked me because I am now a Pilot, does he call me Pilot or Captain? I always believed Captain was a title for a Commercial(compensated) Pilot?

You are Pilot in Command.

Call yourself Captain if you want, I think it sounds dorky if all you're doing is flying a single engine recip trainer. :lol:

My Father asked me because I am now a Pilot, does he call me Pilot or Captain? I always believed Captain was a title for a Commercial(compensated) Pilot?

Captain, outside military rank is an honorific bestowed upon people with ego issues. You are a Pilot, when you are in command of the aircraft you are Pilot in Command, doesn't matter if you're a solo student in a 152 or in command of an A380 full of pax.

Captain, outside military rank is an honorific bestowed upon people with ego issues. You are a Pilot, when you are in command of the aircraft you are Pilot in Command, doesn't matter if you're a solo student in a 152 or in command of an A380 full of pax.

This is along the lines of what I was thinking. Call me by name or call me Pilot.

However, the ladies can call me, Captain! :wink2::wink2:

So calling him Commander might be an option? :dunno:

A plane is also called a ship. But I think it sounds a little funny to be a captain of a 152

At least one airline (that happens to be based in Ft. Worth) distinguishes captains and pilots.

IIRC, your website or other internet carried such a designation. Is that different?

A plane is also called a ship. But I think it sounds a little funny to be a captain of a 152

The same applies to a ship, there is no standing in maritime law for Captain, my credentials read, "Master" as do all the credentials from issuing nations. When referred to in any legal sense, the term Master is used.

At least one airline (that happens to be based in Ft. Worth) distinguishes captains and pilots.