Pilot Deviation Career Ending?

Kenjit

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Kenjit
Hey guys I'm new to this form so please excuse me as I am very worried about a mistake I made. Before going deep into my mistake I would like to say that its completely my fault and am trying to get training done with my instructor over the mistake. I've filed an ASAP report as well as the NASA ASRS.

Okay so I go to an aviation uni, and I flew on my commercial solo XC, was an amazing flight and I had fun throughout except for when I was getting ready to depart my second airport (my first time there) I briefed the taxi instructions given to me by ATC and also where I was gonna do my run-up. When I was ready I looked up at the hold short line and taxied forward. After stopping I immediately felt something was off when i could see the runway threshold and my initial realization is that I was somewhere I wasn’t supposed to be. I had past the hold short line by at least my tail, I wasn’t on the actual runway itself but about 1/3 of the way on the displaced threshold. My immediate reaction was to turn left and vacate. Thankfully no one was on short final. I got the “possible pilot deviation call...” The guy was very understanding and I complied fully and stated that it was very much my mistake.

Im waiting on the FSDO guy to call me now and I’ve been so depressed lately its killing me.

How do you guys think this will end? Are there any suggestions? Thanks and I hope everyone can learn from this mistake.

Chances are pretty good that the FSDO will have a discussion with you and that will be the end of it. The key is to be polite and not argumentative. Treat it as a learning experience.

It is definitely not career ending. It will be an interview question for sure. And again, if you have gotten far enough to do an interview, they are looking to how you answer the question.