Petty Insurance Rant

SixPapaCharlie

May the force be with you
Display Name

Display name:
Sixer
1st. I am not an unintelligent guy. I think a lot, I am good At math, I have a degree, I got the highest score possible on my Apgar exam.

I have no clue what is going on regarding my bill and I know there are people in the world that are dumber than me. It's not their fault. It just that I know there is a bell curve and they probably don't.

So do most people just pay whatever number is on a bill? If so, I am starting a random billing service.

Background (I know 1st world problems. Quit reading then):
I schedule my medical stuff, they run the numbers and tell me my out of pocket is $50. cool

I schedule it, They examine my shoulder (Had to go in through my ass. And it wasn't at a hospital. And he wasn't a doctor. And he never discussed my shoulder...)

I get a bill (this is not a bill) for $200

I call and the IVR says [robot voice]
press 1 for billing. Then the robot tells me I owe $250

So they have different numbers in their system for amounts I owe and one gets printed and mailed and the other given to a robot (Why do robots have British accents?)

I call and speak to the first line of defense from the unfortunate section of the aforementioned bell curve. Her words when asked were "I don't know where these numbers are coming from"

She tells me to call the Dr. with whom I met. "No, he billed Cigna and Cigna spit out these 3 numbers someone in your company must know how this works. You don't , I don't, and I bet most people don't but someone does."

and on and on.

I will pay whatever I owe. but I don't want to pay a bill when the system generating the bill disagrees with itself and spits out 3 different numbers for the same stuff. I worked for a few years programming at a 3rd party benefits admin so I am trying to be understanding. :mad: