Options for resuming PPL training?

James Adkins

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
James
I am currently a student pilot that stopped training about 2 years ago at 35 hours for various reasons but the main reason is the Solo XC. I live on an island and in order to make my XC requirements, I would have to fly to an island 112NM away over the Pacific Ocean to satisfy the 50 mile requirement, the closest is just 48 miles away and won't work, unfortunately.

I have done this flight 5 times with my instructor for Dual and Night Dual XC but don't feel comfortable doing it solo in a single engine plane.

Does anyone have a flight school recommendation in Hawaii, or the West Coast USA that would be willing to continue my training so I don't waste the hours I have already accumulated? I have soloed and am studying for the written exam. I should be able to pass that no problem after refreshing my memory after 2 years.

What’s your planned use for the certificate after earning it? A fear of overwater flying in your circumstances might indicate very little use for the certificate after earning it.

Kona to Hilo counts as a XC as it's over 50 NM between the two. Of course, you'll probably have to go around the island, rather than direct, but it sure is scenic.

I wonder if you could 'reposition' for this cross country flight? Like maybe fly dual, then complete the cross country over less open water?

I would work on getting over that fear. What's the difference if you are alone or not? If the engine quits your still in the same predicament solo or dual.

What’s your planned use for the certificate after earning it? A fear of overwater flying in your circumstances might indicate very little use for the certificate after earning it.
Right. Do they still issue Recreational certificates? If so, the OP may be a good candidate.

Read FAR 61.111, it is written specifically for your circumstance.