Oh the rust!

TinmanJones

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
TinmanJones
I began training for my PPL at the start of 2002. Was flying a couple of days week with my CFI. Soloed & began to build my solo hours. Flew a XC flight right before the airplane owner moved all of his equipment 45 minutes away.
That move put a serious damper on my flight time. With my work schedule, there was just no time to get to the airplane.
My last flight was mid 2002 with my log book at 36.5 hours.

Fast forward to today, 15 years later, I have a meeting with my new CFI this week.
I have a 3rd Class Medical scheduled for next week (since its been over 10yrs).

I'm beyond excited to finally get back in the airplane.
I know I'll be extremely rusty. Possibly like being a complete noob.
Some have said "it's like riding a bike."
I don't know about that, but I hope it's "kinda" accurate.

Can't wait to get started.

Welcome back! I had a similar experience when I started training. Got to around 35 hours and then was transferred from Korea to McGuire AFB in 1974 so I didn't finish in Korea. Economy was terrible and with a baby on the way I didn't have money for flight lessons. Took about a year or so to get back on my feet and started again. It was almost like learning to fly all over again. But, I finished and ended up with a professional flying career. You'll get there this time, I know you will. Best of luck and success to you. Again, welcome back!