non-owners policy for student club member

Pnwannabe2

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
ORBluebird
Greetings. I'm a student pilot and recently joined a local flying club. The insurance policy covers members as named owners with a $1000 deductible and $1M liability coverage. Not sure about the other details in the policy.

As a student, would purchasing an additional policy (e.g. Avemco) for myself be a good idea? Others have done this to avoid the deductible and raise the limits, but as a new student, I'm wondering how responsibility works in aviation accidents. If the CFI is responsible for what happens and I'm in a club plane, maybe I will wait until I have my PPL and rent other A/C?

If you're with a CFI, non-owners insurance is not necessary, as the liability would fall on the clubs insurance if an incident were to occur.

When you begin to solo, than I would consider a non-owners policy, until then, it's not really necessary.

I don't know, but I don't think you can 'avoid the deductible', like, ever. I think. you will always pay, one way or another.

would purchasing an additional policy (e.g. Avemco) for myself be a good idea? Others have done this to avoid the deductible and raise the limits, but as a new student, I'm wondering how responsibility works in aviation accidents.

I don't know, but I don't think you can 'avoid the deductible', like, ever. I think. you will always pay, one way or another.
This is true. You can't really avoid the deductible. You either pay theirs or your own policy's deductible.

As far as responsibility, if the accident occured from pilots negligence (pilot error) than the PIC will be deemed responsible. OTOH, if the accident occurs from a mantainence issue that was out of the PIC's control, than the owner/operator of the airplane would be responsible.

Your club is responsible for their deductible, not the actual member flying, unless the bylaws state otherwise (which I doubt).