Non-IFR pilot instructed to intercept LOC

ArrowFlyer86

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
The Little Arrow That Could
While flying from Chicago to KSUS (St Louis) with VFR flight following I received an instruction from STL approach telling me to fly direct to the CSX VOR over Lambert (the bravo airport), continue straight on, and then intercept the LOC for rwy 26 at KSUS. As I'm not yet an instrument rated pilot and have only done a few practice approaches I declined and said I needed a visual approach (though I'm pretty sure I could have executed that intercept OK). The controller accepted my response but seemed a little confused, perhaps a little annoyed that I didn't accept that. I heard him vector a couple other planes that way without pushback from pilots.

My question is: could I have technically accepted that instruction as a non-instrument rated private pilot? Or would accepting that instruction be akin to me asserting that I'm an instrument pilot? The weather was unlimited visibility and sky clear, so it's not as if I risked flying into IFR conditions. But my gut tells me that it was the right decision to reject the instruction to be safe either way. Anyways just curious!

Edit: it was intercept localizer not ILS.

Last edited:
ILS or "intercept the localizer"? I've heard the latter as a VFR instruction a few times at Class B and C airports, especially with parallel runways. Some instructors teach it because it's a good tool for a lot of straight in situations. If it's something not in your bag of tricks, "unable" is an appropriate response.

Last edited: