New Private Pilot Cross Country Requirements

SRJ

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
SJ
Hello -

I'm new to PofA so apologies if my question here sounds stupid. I was reviewing the most recent update of the FAR/AIM and saw that under Part 141 Appendix B (Private Pilot Requirements), that the distance for the "long" XC solo flight was no longer 150 miles, but now 100 miles with the same required number of stops. Is that right? Hoping to get some thoughts. Thanks!!

SJ

Night flight xc requirement is 100 nm and the long solo xc is 150 nm. Maybe you misread.

I'm looking at Appendix B #5 of the Part 141 requirements and it says 100 nm for both the night and also the long XC. This is literally the new FAR/AIM update for 2017 that came out in the last 3 weeks....

5. Solo flight training. Each approved course must include at least the following solo flight training:

(a) For an airplane single-engine course: 5 hours of solo flight training in a single-engine airplane on the approved areas of operation in paragraph (d)(1) of section No. 4 of this appendix that includes at least—

(1) One solo 100 nautical miles cross country flight with landings at a minimum of three points and one segment of the flight consisting of a straight-line distance of more than 50 nautical miles between the takeoff and landing locations; and

(2) Three takeoffs and three landings to a full stop (with each landing involving a flight in the traffic pattern) at an airport with an operating control tower.

Oh wait, this is for Part 141... in that case, no idea. Kind of crazy for them to lower it more, though. 150 nm isn't that much as it is.

woah, "PofA".......that IS new. I kinda like it.

There's no change. It's been that way for Part 141 for at least several years - that's how long ago I got involved with a 141 school - so it could be much longer. Why, I have no idea, but that's what it is. Part 61 is still the (already too short, IMO) 150 nm.