New Plane Checkout

loudbagel

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Hummingbird Saltalamacchia
A friend has offered to let me start flying his airplane, he is a private pilot and says that he can "give me a checkout" in his airplane. Im a private pilot who has only flown 172's , the plane in question is a 152. Are there any regulations that prevent him from checking me out in his airplane?

Thanks

You're authorized to fly single engine piston planes that aren't taildraggers, aren't complex, and aren't over 200hp since you're a private pilot. Unless his insurance requires a checkout (by a CFI) you'll be good to fly it when he's comfortable with you flying it.

The 152 will feel like a 172 with power steering on the controls, I have a feeling you'll like it ;)

You're authorized to fly single engine piston planes that aren't taildraggers, aren't complex, and aren't over 200hp since you're a private pilot. Unless his insurance requires a checkout (by a CFI) you'll be good to fly it when he's comfortable with you flying it.

The 152 will feel like a 172 with power steering on the controls, I have a feeling you'll like it ;)

Thank you for the speedy response!

It's FAA-legal for your pal to ride along with you and make his own decision as to whether he wants to let you fly his plane or not as long as your pal doesn't try to enter any training time in your logbook. Whether it's safe/smart or not is another story entirely, and impossible to answer without knowing both involved pilots' skills and experience.

Also, as mentioned above, whether it's OK with his insurance company is a question only his insurer can answer. You might also want to determine what insurance coverage you will need or is provided by your pal's policy before you get in that left seat even with your pal in the right seat.

Last edited: