New old truck

Tarheelpilot

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Tarheelpilot
Help me decide please. I have narrowed my search to two. The trucks have same body style, transmission and mileage is ~160k on both.
Option 1: 06' 5.9 Cummins, paint is 9/10, interior is 8/10, 4" exhaust cold air filter and smarty tuner

Option 2: 07' 6.7 Cummins, 5 paint with some dents, 6 interior
Emissions delete, 4" exhaust and efi live tuner. This truck is $2k cheaper.

I'm replacing an early 24v dodge so I have no firsthand experience with either of these engines.

Opinions??

I wouldn't touch either.

Most people who mess with emissions don't have the slightest clue what they are doing. They can do a lot of damage and very rarely do any good at all.

I take it your county doesn't require emissions checks?

I wouldn't touch either.

Most people who mess with emissions don't have the slightest clue what they are doing. They can do a lot of damage and very rarely do any good at all.

You obviously don't own a Cummins equiped vehicle nor have a clue about anything to do with truck performance tuning either.

I'm sure if you did, you'd understand how the diesel performance market works and stupid easy it is to tune a truck.

OP

Tough call on which one. the purests would say the 5.9 all the way. But having owned both and current 6.7 owner FULLY tuned with almost every performance mod you can buy, the 6.7 power plant is well supported by the aftermarket.

As they sit, which truck do you like better?

I would go with option 1. I like the 5.9, but am totally ignorant of the 6.7. I replaced a '97 5.9 (225k miles) with an '07 5.9 (88k miles) a couple of years ago and am completely happy with it.

What are they asking for each?

What's your truck mission?