New Glass Avionics Upgrade

rksmith81

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
rksmith81
Greetings All,
I'm a new private pilot looking to purchase an older aircraft that has existing analog / original 6 pack and outdated avionics on it. I've got approx. $50,000.00 reserved for upgrading the existing avionics system to a new glass panel. Would $50,000.00 be enough?

With some systems that would be enough. With others not even close, depending on what you want to end up with.

Look at a pair of GI-275's, GFC-500 Autopilot, Garmin GI-275 engine monitor, Garmin GNC-255A radio, GTX-375 GPS/Transponder. It can be done for $50-60K or so.

Seriously price out the option of using GTX-375 as your GPS navigator and GNC-255A as your nav/com radio. Garmin has a much cheaper 225 com only radio.

Last edited:
What aircraft model are you looking for? There’s a good chance you could do an IFR Dynon Skyview HDX system in your budget.

Yes, new glass, autopilot, and gps for about 50. (G3X, GFC500, GTN650)

Yes, new glass, autopilot, and gps for about 50. (G3X, GFC500, GTN650)

Installed? What shop?

I have quotes from 3 shops, all with great reputations, for a G3X, PS audio panel, and GFC-500. Right around $52,000 for each. I already have the GTN-650 and GTX-345, and a G5 in the panel.

A GTN-650 will run $20,000 plus installed. And the G5, probably $10,000.

Installed? What shop?

I have quotes from 3 shops, all with great reputations, for a G3X, PS audio panel, and GFC-500. Right around $52,000 for each. I already have the GTN-650 and GTX-345, and a G5 in the panel.

A GTN-650 will run $20,000 plus installed. And the G5, probably $10,000.

I’m installing G3X & GFC500 for $30k, already have G5 but adding AV20S as I wanted a non Garmin AI. But quote is over a year ago, so I assume today it would be more, I suspect $40,000 would the price you’d be quoted. And there’s no taxes here in Florida.

I had dual G5s installed for less than $10,000, but again that’s 4 years ago.