New Flier

William Kling

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
WKling808
So I am a high school student and have recently decided to get my PPL. I was first introduced to being a pilot by my Dad, who was a former pilot, but only realized it was really something I could do when my best friend started to get his PPL. I have taken an intro flight and have decided this is something I want to do. I bought my books to start studying last month and have been reading them every spare minute.
I want to go to College to be a Marine Biologist, but also want to continue flying and getting all the ratings I can. I am considering joining the Air Force to help pay for College and to get a steady job to support the high expenses of flying.
Conclusion: I want to know if anyone thinks this is a good or bad plan and why. Any critique would be greatly appreciated!

Only word of advise I can give is get out while you still can, this pursuit will consume your life.

If you continue down this path you will start to notice subtle changes around you... your room will become littered with flying magazines, old sectionals with cover ever inch of your walls. You'll have old flight planner scattered under your desk. You'll arrive 2 hours early to every flight lesson with a handheld radio and binoculars and watch every plane at the airport, typing in every N number into flight aware. You'll run to the window when ever you hear a plane outside. People will think you are crazy. Every flight will be pure nirvana. When you drive down the road and you reach 80mph you murmur under your breath "rotate". The biggest change is your wallet slowly getting thinner. The craziest thing about all of this is you'll look into the mirror and say "This is the greatest decision I've ever made." At that point all is lost.

:thumbsup:

All I can say is pursue your dreams to the best of your ability. And flying is really, really fun!