Need advice from CFI's on how to deal with a fearful student

Salty

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Salty
Ok, so I know the first bit of advice is going to be tell the guy to go to a real CFI, which I've already done.

So, this friend at work finds out I'm a pilot and comes to me super excited and wants to fly with me. I take him for a short flight and he's terrified the entire time. A bank over 5 degrees. A tiny wing tip from a mild gust at the tree line. Going above 1000 feet. All scared him. He handled the fear ok, in terms of not expressing it openly, but he didn't talk much, and he was white-knuckled holding on to anything he could the entire time. It was about as calm a day as you could hope for too.

I honestly thought that would be that, but within a couple weeks he was begging me for another go. He really has a strong desire to fly, but he's terrified. I honestly think the second flight he got worse rather than better. It was another smooth day, but any tiny bump would freak him out, and a normal 10-15 degree bank to final about put him over the top.

So here it is a couple weeks later and he's ready to go again. My thought is to take him up high and do steeper banks and see if he can get past it. Going out on beautiful days sure doesn't seem to be working. I was thinking maybe if he saw how much worse it can be while still being safe, maybe the mild stuff wouldn't bother him as much.

Looking for ideas on how to deal with this one.

Are you saying what you're doing as you do it? New passengers don't know what is "normal" so they get a bit nervous. I had a friend that was fine with some some chop... enough that I slowed down for it... but the turn out after take off freaked him out. Maybe 20* max.

I know I would have to leave out my usual comments like "That's never happened before", "I wonder that that gauge means", and "do you know how to land one of these things?"