Need Advice Crossing Rocky Mountains in Winter

rhvpilot

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
RHV PILOT
Just got my new baby, PA 32- 6/260 and I need to bring it home from Detroit Michigan to San Jose, California ASAP!!!.

I am a relatively new pilot @ 300 hours in C-172, currently in the middle of IFR training.

Though excited about the life time experience of real cross country, I am afraid of Rockies especially in winter weather.

Please advise on the safest and fun route. Will greatly appreciate the help.

Last edited:
Why not head south towards ABQ then cross Arizona and see the grand canyon. It will add distance but it will be paid back in peace of mind.

Why not head south towards ABQ then cross Arizona and see the grand canyon. It will add distance but it will be paid back in peace of mind.

Thanks for the reply. Cherokee 6/260 ceiling is 12500. Do you think this should be enough?

Congrats on the purchase.

Crossing is easy, head south and take the I-40 route. The I-80 route can be doable in the winter particularly when the jet stream is way south. Right now, as in today, I think you could take either route and be fine.

Ya gotta watch the winds near Laramie, WY/Muddy Mtn VOR and plan accordingly. Anyway, be ready to wait out a frontal passage, keep plenty of gas in the tanks and enjoy the trip.

With the weather that's going to be hitting the Bay Area tomorrow night through Friday, you'll have to either be really fast or hunker down somewhere until it's passed.

Congrats on the purchase.

Crossing is easy, head south and take the I-40 route. The I-80 route can be doable in the winter particularly when the jet stream is way south. Right now, as in today, I think you could take either route and be fine.

Ya gotta watch the winds near Laramie, WY/Muddy Mtn VOR and plan accordingly. Anyway, be ready to wait out a frontal passage, keep plenty of gas in the tanks and enjoy the trip.

Thanks