[NA] TicketMaster business model

Van Johnston

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Van Johnston
Does anyone understand the TicketMaster business model? Is it anything other than “once you come to our website to buy a ticket you’ve effectively put your scrotum in our hand, and we squeeze hard till you pay?”

I got an e-mail announcing a show is coming to town I’d really like to see, and offering pre-sale opportunity with a code. Followed the link to the TM site, and see list price for tickets is $36 to $126. I’m a pilot, so select 2 at $36. Total bill is $110.69, including $9.85 service fee (x2), $3 facility charge (x2), $5.41 order processing fee, and $7.58 sales tax. Over 50% markup in fees. So I decided I didn’t need to go that bad.

Then I thought, well maybe the fees would be more more palatable, percentage wise, if I got the good seats. So I went back in and selected two $126 seats. Now total bill is ... wait for it... $659 ... including $173 service fee (x2), 3.00 facility charge (x2), 5.41 order processing fee, and $49 sales tax. Over 160% markup. Both estimates are for free electronic delivery.

What am I missing? Or should I stop resisting and buy TM stock?

Not just ticketmaster. All of the ticket resellers have huge add ons, and you usually can't see them until just before checkout!

Yeah, nice work if you can get it, lol. Seriously though, you have to wonder if large venues enjoy having ticketmaster because it ensures most of the tickets get purchased (equals guaranteed revenue). However, I wish venues would just sell their tickets direct, and avoid the ticket broker/scalpers.

You’ll pay the Facility Charge at the box office as well - I really hate this airline style bait-and-switch pricing but it is what it is.