[NA] Motorcycle advice

Gary F

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Gary F
I am thinking about buying a new street bike next spring. The large majority of the time I will ride it 5 miles to work or 20 miles to the airport. I might take a few short trips of 60 to 200 miles each year. I am more concerned about comfort than performance. I am considering a HD probably either a Sportster (1200 Custom, SuperLow or Iron 883) or one of the Triumph Classics or a Speedmaster. I really wanted a Triumph when I was younger so I am leaning toward one of these models. Unfortunately the nearest Triumph dealers are a good distance away so I would have to trailer it if I need any major warranty work. I had several different street legal dirt bikes growing up and most recently a Suzuki DRZ400 until I got tired of off road riding a few years ago. Can anybody give me advice on choosing between any these motorcycles?

As an MSF instructor I would not recommend either Sportsters. They are not comfortable if want to head out on a weekend ride. The 883 is an underpowered bike IMHO.

I would recommend the Night Train, Low Rider or Dyna Wide Glide as a better alternative.
Also, check out the Victory motorcycle line.

I agree with the long distance to get warranty work completed on the Triumph.

Enjoy your search.

I don't know....Sportsters are relatively inexpensive, and for the distance you're going they're not uncomfortable. For longer rides, yeah, but for 5-20 mile trips your back will never feel it. As for being underpowered, you'll notice a difference between the 883 and larger bikes and really, I'd think an 883 would be the ideal size for 5-20 mile trips.

DL is right about checking out the Victory line. They're fun bikes. My advice would be to visit all the shops in the area and test drive the ones that get your adrenaline flowing.