Mountain Flying WNC

dcotton

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Don
Can anyone recommend a good instructor to learn the basics of mountain flying in NC? I am a flatlander from S Fla and will be flying there this summer and really want to get some instruction in the Asheville area (and West of that).

Thanks!
Don

Flying LSA also, if that is an issue.

I'm in the Raleigh area so it's a little far from you and I'm still pretty new to NC so I can't give you a recommendation (I do have a little mountain experience though ;))

You can also check with NC Pilot (Mark Shilling). He hasn't hung around here lately but he may respond to a PM. He's in the area and probably knows a few people.

If you don't get a specific recommendation from someone, I suggest you contact the Western North Carolina Pilots Association http://flywncpa.org/ There is a list of independent instructors on the site and there may be others they can put you in touch with.

I went to a CAPS meeting a few weeks ago and one guy was talking about having just taken some mtn flying instruction AT asheville... I don't recall the name but you might want to check it out.

The school at ALL used to be good, with glass & steam 172s. Haven't been there recently. Millionaire has been replaced as FBO, not sure about instructors. Give em a call.

David Shields at WNC Aviation based at KAVL - he's their Chief, a DPE, and I'm told he does instruction in Mountain Flying.

http://www.knoxflight.com/mountain_flying_course.php

We are just an hour north of the the highest point in the Appalachians and fly every other trip through or over them. We live in the foothills. They are beautiful! We always take survival gear including a 100' rope.