Military pilots favor gliders?

Aceman

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Aceman
All,

Ever since I started learning how to fly gliders, I've met a lot of ex-military pilots flying fighter jets. I've asked some of them why did they choose gliders instead of regular prop plane clubs and none of them have given me any straight answer. Why is there an abundance of fighter jet pilots from the military into gliders? Perhaps because the gliders are the purist form of flying? Gliders mimic fighter jets more than single engine prop planes?

Ex fighter jocks are pretty common in all circles of flying. Pretty confident there’s more of them per capita in my current circle than there were in my glider club, though there were a lot in the club.

Ex fighter jocks are pretty common in all circles of flying. Pretty confident there’s more of them per capita in my current circle than there were in my glider club, though there were a lot in the club.
From my experience they are more abundant in the glider community. Our glider club has a lot of them (more than my previous training club at an all single-engine club).

Yeah, a trainer club isn’t going to attract many, that’s true. Gliding is very cool, and is a great way to become more connected with your aircraft.

But, I’m still pretty confident there are more ex-military folks in the group I’m flying with now.

IMG_0504.jpegIMG_2340.jpeg

I’m curious how your club works. Do you spend a lot of time assisting with launching other gliders? That was my biggest issue with my club. I’d spend all day there and get 2 hours of flying max. Works great if you’re retired military ;), but for us guys with a job, it was too much.

Not sure I get the comparison to a glider and fighter. Just because there’s a canopy and a stick doesn’t make it a fighter. They’re about as fast as a canoe and handle like a dump truck. I enjoyed flying gliders but not exactly a kick in the pants.