Marijuana Use

S

Scared student

I am currently a student pilot with a 3rd class medical. More than 2 years before I got my medical I went to the doctor and they found marijuana in my system. Does this count as a positive drug test according the the FAA? I wasn’t there for a drug test nor have I ever failed a preemployment drug test before. I didn’t disclose this on my previous medical exam because I did t even think about it at the time since it had been over 2 years and I hadn’t been smoking since then.

Not that it matters, but what doctor were you seeing that conducts random drug tests?

Not that it matters, but what doctor were you seeing that conducts random drug tests?
I had disclosed to them that I had smoked that day and also had a blood test run while I was there. It didn’t show up on any tests but is listed on the after visit summary.

This is not a “positive” under 49 cfr 40, which is used for certificate action and medical certification.

It is possibly problematic under medical certification. So the question becomes does your AME know, if not should he? Both questions I’m not qualified to answer.

I had disclosed to them that I had smoked that day and also had a blood test run while I was there. It didn’t show up on any tests but is listed on the after visit summary.

So they didn’t “find” marijuana in your system. They just put it in your record because you blabbed that you smoked it. You have no arrest record? No driving under the influence of any substance? Clip is right, they don’t test for drugs with a standard exam. Whether this is an issue with the FAA I’m not qualified to answer either. You didn’t lie to the FAA I presume if you’ve no arrest record nor history of addiction. I can’t recall if one of the questions is, “Have you ever in your life toked with or without inhaling?”